Document Actions


AwardsBard College at Simon’s Rock's Commencement ceremony is personal. Indeed, at Simon’s Rock, it is not simply the graduates that are celebrated. A significant portion of the ceremony is devoted to faculty honoring individual graduate achievements and students honoring, in turn, the dedication of College faculty and staff. It’s a tradition that caps an ongoing achievement support system built-in at the College. In fact, throughout the year, it is not uncommon for the community at large to honor its members. Below, a recognition of Simon’s Rock 2010 honorees.


Faculty and Staff Awards and Honors

DR. JOHN A. GLOVER AWARD: Established in 1995 by Theresa Glover and her daughters, Sarah ’91 and Elizabeth ’92, this award honors the memory of an outstanding scholar, teacher, mentor, author, and editor. It is given each year to a Simon’s Rock faculty member, chosen by the senior class, in recognition of his or her knowledge of subject, love of learning, excellence in teaching, and dedication to students. Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, Anne O’Dwyer was honored by students this year.

RUTH B. IDE AWARD: Established by the B.A. class of 1972, the Ruth B. Ide Award is given annually by the senior class to a staff member who embodies the qualities of a “Good Sport.” Ruth B. Ide served as an administrative secretary at Simon’s Rock from 1968 to 1986. Beloved dining hall staff member Jay Embree, who passed away in November, was celebrated by the students. Provost Mary Marcy accepted the award on Embree’s behalf.

RICHARD C. DRUMM, SR. AWARD: Established in 2001 in honor of Dick Drumm, a member of the Physical Plant staff who worked on the Simon’s Rock property for 42 years—first for the Hall family, and then for the College—this award is given annually by the senior class to a longtime member of faculty or staff who has dedicated his or her professional life to the College. This year students honored longtime faculty member, Nancy Yanoshak.

Each year a member of the staff is chosen by the College’s Provost's Council to receive the Gregory Rhoades Award. The award recognizes individuals who have provided exceptional service and shown outstanding dedication the College, its mission, and its people. This year the Gregory Rhoades Award was given to Steve Carignan. Provost Marcy: “Steve has been a wonderful leader of the Physical Plant, keeping the campus beautiful. His team makes innumerable contributions to the campus on a daily basis—from getting up before the rest of us to make sure the roads are clear in winter, to moving our offices and furniture, securing the best possible contracts for utilities, cleaning the buildings, and finally grooming the campus for Commencement. His leadership of this team has been inspiring, his own work ethic is unstinting, and his professionalism and commitment to the mission of the College is unquestioned.”

Academic Prizes

The Division of the Arts celebrated the outstanding academic achievements of students Jordan Frye, Elana Belle Carroll, Rebecca Elliott Shippee, and Hannah Winslow Schindler.

The Division of Languages and Literature celebrated the outstanding academic achievements of students Kathryn Anne Giles, Elizabeth Meier, Sadie L. Roosa, and Olivia Moore Stransky.

The Division of Science, Mathematics and Computing celebrated the outstanding academic achievements of students Emma Sophia Ehrlich, Raspberry Simpson, Samuel Joseph Ferguson, and Ambika K. Nath.

The Division of Social Studies celebrated the outstanding academic achievements of student Noel Dominguez, Faisa Sharif, Elizabeth Ann Davis, and Shareece Homes.

Interdivisional Studies celebrated the outstanding academic achievements of students Abigail Rae Nehring, Alexandra G. Smith, Eden Grace Chubb, and Natanah Helen Rothberg.