2011 Faculty and Staff Honors

Document Actions

Bard College at Simon’s Rock's Commencement ceremony celebrates graduates and the faculty and staff who support students during their time at the College

Special recognition was given to two longtime leaders from the Arts Division. Professors Bill Jackson and Arthur Hillman were recognized for 39 and 37 years of service to the College, respectively. Jackson is a painter and sculptor and Hillman is a photographer and printmaker. They have educated generations of Simon’s Rock students and fostered the Division of the Arts through many formative changes.

The following three awards are given at commencement each year to staff and faculty members:

Dr. John A Glover Award: Professor Ben Krupka

Krupka, faculty in ceramics, was given this award in recognition of his knowledge, love of learning, excellence in teaching, and dedication to students. Since joining the faculty in 2005, Krupka has transformed the College’s ceramics program. He has drawn more students to the art and grown the ceramics program through unique curricular offerings, including study aboard trips and opportunities for students to participate in the construction of wood-fired kilns.

Ruth B. Ide Award: Susan Mower

Established by the BA class of 1972, the Ruth B. Ide Award is given annually by the senior class to a staff member who embodies the qualities of a “Good Sport.” Ruth B. Ide, who passed away on May 29, served as an administrative secretary at Simon's Rock from 1968 to 1986. Mower, academic services coordinator in the office of Academic Affairs, was recognized for her uncompromising commitment to connecting students with resources they need over her eleven year tenure. In recent years, Mower’s work coordinating services for international students has been an important component as the College continues to attract a larger group of students from abroad.

Richard C. Drumm Sr. Award: Wendy Shifrin

This award is given annually by the senior class to a longtime member of faculty or staff who has dedicated his or her professional life to the College. Shifrin, faculty in dance, joined the College in 1984. Her interdisciplinary approach to dance and movement instruction are distinctive features of the Simon’s Rock’s dance program.