Bard College at Simon's Rock: the Early College
  1. Home
  2.  > 
  3. Why Simons Rock
  4.  > 
  5. Contact Us
  6.  > 
  7. Offices And Departments
  8.  > 
  9. Academic Affairs
  10.  > 
  11. Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar 2015-2016

Summer 2015                           

 
Wednesday, August 12 New international students arrive (Financial clearance required)
Saturday, August 15 New students arrive 8:00-11:00 (Financial clearance required)

Saturday, August 15 -

Saturday, August 22

Writing & Thinking Workshop (ends Thursday, August 20) / New Student Orientation Programming
Wednesday & Thursday, August 19 & 20 Senior Workshop
Friday, August 21

Academic Advising 9:00-12:00 / Provost Welcome to faculty & staff

Student deadline to submit work to faculty for Spring 2015 incompletes (INC lapses to F) & grade changes

 

Fall Semester 2015                            

 
Sunday, August 23 Returning students arrive after noon (Financial clearance required)
Monday, August 24 Fall semester classes begin

Friday, September 4

Last day to return course add forms to Registrar by 5:00 (mod2 add forms due Oct 23)

Faculty deadline for Spring 2015 incompletes (INC lapses to F) & grade changes to Registrar by noon

Friday, September 18 Last day to return course drop forms to Registrar by 5:00 (mod2 drop forms due Oct 23)
Saturday, September 26 Rock the Community Day of Service
Friday, October 2 Airport / travel information to Transportation by 5:00
Friday, October 9

Module 1 ends

Fall Break begins after last class (residences close on Saturday, October 10 at noon

 Friday, October 16 Midterm and Module 1 grades and comments due to Registrar by noon
Sunday, October 18  Fall Break ends (students return after noon)
Monday, October 19

 Classes resume

 Module 2 begins

Friday, October 23 Last day to return Module 2 Add / Drop forms to Registrar by 5:00

Friday, October 30-

Sunday, November 1

Family Weekend

Wednesday, November 11

Social Justice and Diversity Teach-in. No classes.

Last day to return course withdrawal forms to Registrar by 5:00

Friday, November 13 Airport / travel information to Transportation by 5:00
Moderation forms due to Registrar for December AA graduates by 5:00
Spring semester Leave To Study Away applications due to Academic Affairs by 5:00
Friday, November 20 Thanksgiving Break begins after last class (residences close Sat, Nov 21, at 12:00)
Sunday, November 29 Thanksgiving Break ends (students return after noon)
Monday, November 30 Classes resume
Wednesday, December 2 Registration for Spring 2016 semester (Financial clearance required)
Friday, December 4 Airport / travel information to Transportation by 5:00

 Wednesday, December 9

Last day of classes

By noon: 1 signed copy of final thesis begun Spring 2015 due to Provost

By noon: Self-evaluations of thesis begun Fall 2015 due to Academic Affairs

Thursday, December 10 Reading Day

Friday, Monday, Tuesday

December 11, 14, & 15 (end at noon)

Final examination period (residences close Wednesday, December 16 at noon)
Wednesday, December 16 Fall semester grades for students on academic probation due to Registrar by noon

 

Intersession 2015 - 2016

 

Wednesday, December 16 -

Sunday, January 24

Intersession

Thursday, December 24, 2015 -

Friday, January 1, 2016

School Closed (all campus offices are closed)
Monday, January 4 Fall semester grades and comments due to Registrar by noon
Thursday, January 21 Faculty Retreat

 

  Spring Semester 2016                                      

 
Wednesday, January 20 New international students arrive (Financial clearance required)
Friday, January 22

New students arrive 10:00-11:00 (Financial clearance required)

Advising and registration for new students 3:30-5:00

Student deadline to submit work to faculty for Fall 2015 incompletes (I lapses to F) & grade changes

Sunday, January 24 Returning students arrive after noon (Financial clearance required)
Monday, January 25 Spring semester classes begin
Friday, February 5

Last day to return course add forms to Registrar by 5:00 (mod2 add forms due Apr 1)

Faculty deadline for Fall 2015 incompletes (I lapses to F) & grade changes to Registrar by noon

Monday, February 15

No classes

Friday, February 19

Last day to return course drop forms to Registrar by 5:00 (mod2 drop forms due Apr 1)

Friday, March 4 Airport / travel information to Transportation by 5:00
Wednesday, March 9

Scholarship applications due to Academic Affairs by 5:00

Moderation forms due to Registrar for May AA graduates by 5:00

Fall semester Leave To Study Away applications due to Academic Affairs by 5:00

Friday, March 11

Module 1 ends

Spring Break begins after last class (residences close Saturday, March 12 at noon)

Friday, March 18 Midterm and Module 1 grades and comments due to Registrar by noon
Sunday, March 27 Spring Break ends (students return after noon)
Monday, March 28

Classes resume

Module 2 begins

Friday, April 1 Last day to return Module 2 Add / Drop forms to Registrar by 5:00
Friday, April 15 All financial aid applications (FAFSA and Profile) due to Financial Aid Office
Wednesday, April 27 Last day to return course withdrawal forms to Registrar by 5:00
Friday, May 6 Airport / travel information to Transportation by 5:00
Wednesday, May 11

By noon: 1 signed copy of final thesis begun Fall 2015 due to Provost

By noon: Self evaluations of thesis begun Spring 2016 due to Academic Affairs

Registration for Fall 2016 semester (Financial clearance required)

Friday, May 13 Last day of classes
Saturday and Sunday, May 14-15 Reading Period

Monday, May 16 -

Wednesday, May 18

Final examination period
Thursday, May 19

Residences close at noon for non-degree students

Spring semester grades for graduates due to Registrar by 11:00 am

Saturday, May 21

Commencement

Residences close for graduates at 4:00

Tuesday, May 31 Spring semester grades and comments due to Registrar by noon