Bard College at Simon's Rock: the Early College

S. Berk. Concert: Hutton-DeWys & The Momenta String Quartet

Sunday, April 19

Daniel Arts Center - McConnell Theater

South Berkshire Concerts presents a program of chamber music by women composers by music faculty member and pianist Manon Hutton-DeWys in collaboration with the Momenta String Quartet. 

Their program will combine a grand romantic quintet by the Boston composer Amy Cheney Beach with more recent works by 20th-century Polish composer Grazyna Bacewicz and the contemporary Cuban-born composer Ileana Pérez Velazquez, a faculty member of Williams College. Ms. Hutton-DeWys has made a specialty of modern and contemporary piano music, and last year taught a class on Women in Music which inspired the idea of this program.

Manon Hutton-DeWys has long been earning praise and recognition for her performances of classical and modern music. In Musical America, Christian Carey wrote: “Hutton-DeWys did an admirable job creating legato lyricism in a solo line that resides amidst a tremendously active accompaniment. Her sensitive dynamic shadings and subtle use of rubato demonstrated an artist possessing a great deal of promise." 

The Momenta Quartet’s mission is to bring the best of contemporary music to audiences in New York City and around the world. Their vision of new music embraces composers from all cultures and from diverse musical backgrounds, including jazz and avant-garde improvisation. Momenta devotes the vast majority of its programming to living composers, many of whom are emerging or underrepresented in the New York new music scene.

Admission: Free with a suggested donation of $10.

South Berkshire Concerts are supported by a grant from the Massachusetts Cultural Council.

Cost: Free with a suggested donation of $10

Website: Click to Visit

Save this Event:
Google Calendar
Yahoo! Calendar
Windows Live Calendar