Student are permitted to keep a motor vehicle on campus after successfully completing two semesters in residence. First-year students of age 18 or older who are in good academic and social standing may petition for an exception in their second semester to have a vehicle on campus. Exceptions require approval of the dean of Campus Life and the director of Campus Safety. Other students are permitted to bring motor vehicles to campus subject to the College's motor vehicle policies. First-year day students who are allowed an exception to the above policy may not transport other students in their vehicles during their first two semesters at the College. Vehicles are subject to college regulations governing privacy. Students are reminded that they are to abide by the conditions of their licensure and the laws of Massachusetts and that local jurisdictions apply to all drivers. In Massachusetts, licensed drivers between the ages of 16-1/2 and 18 may not operate a motor vehicle from midnight to 5 a.m. unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
See the list of parking areas below. Please park in designated parking areas, and respect spaces made available for individuals with mobility impairments. Do not park in the fire lanes, in front of buildings, or on the lawns at any time. Illegally parked vehicles will be ticketed or towed at owner’s expense.
ARC Complex – For those using the facility
Blodgett House Lot – Reserved for employees and visitors of Blodgett House.
Carriage House – Drop off, handicap, and residence director spots are located near the building. Additional lots are provided for residents.
College Center – The lot directly behind the building is reserved for faculty and staff
Daniel Arts Center – Reserved for those using the facility. The lot across Gate House Rd. is for those using the facility and residents of the Mods. There is no parking between the main building and the shop building behind.
Fisher Science and Academic Center – Reserved for those using the facility. Except for reserved spaces, there is no parking next to the building.
Hill House Lots – Reserved for Hill House and Owl's Nest residents, visitors, and those using the Livingston Hall Student Union.
Kellogg Music Center – Reserved for visitors to admissions and public events at Kellogg.
Kilpatrick Athletic Center – Reserved for those using the facility.
Lecture Center and Library Lots – Reserved for those using the facilities including the classrooms.
Livingston Hall Student Union Lot (front end parking along Fox Run) – Reserved for those using the student union.
Mods Lot – Reserved for Mod residents and visitors and for public events in Kellogg.
Tri-Dorm Lot – Reserved for those using the surrounding facilities.
The speed limit of 15 mph on campus is strictly enforced. The speed limit is 5 mph past the Livingston Hall Student Union and by the tri-dorm area.
The use of motorcycles and mopeds must be confined to campus roadways and conform to the speed limit and to the campus motor vehicle policy. Protective helmets must be worn at all times in accordance with state law. No covered area is available for the storage of motorcycles or mopeds.
A copy of the motor vehicle policy will be distributed to all students at the beginning of each academic year. Additional copies are available at the Campus Safety Office. Individuals who park in unauthorized areas or who fail to register their vehicles receive a written warning the first time, a $25 fine the second time, and a $50 fine for any subsequent violation. Individuals receiving more than four tickets for parking unregistered vehicles in a semester may lose the privilege of having a vehicle on campus. Violation of the campus speed limit results in a $50 fine the first time and a $50 fine for each subsequent offense. A third speeding violation may result in loss of vehicle privileges. Unsafe driving results in a $50 fine for the first offense and immediate suspension of vehicle privileges for the second offense. Students whose permission to have a motor vehicle on campus has been revoked will be required either to remove their vehicle from campus or place it in a parking lot as directed by the director of Campus Safety, and file their plates with the dean of students within 48 hours of losing the privileges. Any abandoned vehicle (a car whose owner doesn’t respond to a summons placed on the windshield for one week) will be towed off campus. Towing and storage charges will be the responsibility of the vehicle’s owner.
The issuance of a permit to operate a motor vehicle while at Simon’s Rock is a privilege that may be revoked by the Campus Safety or Campus Life staff at any time for any serious infraction of the motor vehicle regulations. Revoking of privileges will include driving and parking on college property. Vehicles must be operated in accordance with state laws. Students will be held responsible for transporting or attempting to transport onto the campus alcohol/drugs, weapons, or persons banned from campus. In some cases, a student on academic or social probation will not be allowed to have a car on campus while the probationary status is in effect. Students whose permission to have a motor vehicle on campus has been revoked will be required either to remove their vehicle from campus or place it in a parking lot as directed by the director of Campus Safety, and file their plates with the dean of students within 48 hours of losing the privileges. Any abandoned vehicle (a car whose owner doesn’t respond to a summons placed on the windshield for one week) will be towed off campus. Towing and storage charges will be the responsibility of the vehicle’s owner.